OCNC2020 : OIST Computational Neuroscience Course (Canceled due to COVID-19)

  • 29th June to 16th July, 2020
  • OIST Seaside House > GoogleMap

 We are organizing OCNC2020 as below. Please apply or forward it to younger colleagues. About the details and registration, please click here.

Methods, Neurons, Networks, and Behaviors
June 29 to July 16, 2020
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan

 The aim of the Okinawa/OIST Computational Neuroscience Course is to provide opportunities for young researchers with theoretical backgrounds to learn the latest advances in neuroscience and for those with experimental backgrounds to have hands-on experience in computational modeling.

 We invite graduate students and postgraduate researchers to participate in the course, held from June 29th through July 16th, 2020 at an oceanfront seminar house of the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University. Applications are through the course web page ( only; January 1 – February 2, 2020.
 Applicants will receive confirmation of acceptance in March.

 Like in preceding years, the 17th OCNC will be a comprehensive three-week course covering single neurons, networks, and behaviors with ample time for student projects. The first week will focus exclusively on methods with hands-on tutorials during the afternoons, while the second and third weeks will have lectures by international experts. The course has a strong hands-on component based on student proposed modeling or data analysis projects, which are further refined with the help of a dedicated tutor. Applicants are required to propose their projects at the time of application.

 There is no tuition fee. The sponsor will provide lodging and meals during the course and provides partial travel support. We hope that this course will be a good opportunity for theoretical and experimental neuroscientists to meet each other and to explore the attractive nature and culture of Okinawa, the southernmost island prefecture of Japan.

Invited faculty:
• Michael Berry II (Princeton University, USA)
• Tiago Branco (Sainsbury Wellcome Centre, London, UK)
• Zenas C Chao (University of Kyoto, Japan)
• Erik De Schutter (OIST)
• Kenji Doya (OIST)
• Gaute Einevoll (Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway)
• Tomoki Fukai (OIST)
• Boris Gutkin (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France)
• Bernd Kuhn (OIST)
• Devika Narain (Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam, Netherlands)
• Alex Pouget (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
• Ivan Soltesz (Stanford University, USA)
• Saori C. Tanaka (ATR, Japan)
• Tatjana Tchumatchenko (Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfur, Germany)
• Marylka Yoe Uusisaari (OIST)